Upcoming Events
09/30/14 Board Meeting
Fire Services
Home » County Departments » Fire Services

Lowndes County is composed of 5 separate Fire Protection Districts which has 18 Fire Stations with 145 men and women Volunteer Fire Fighters. These volunteer fire fighters are overseen by Fire Coordinator Sammy Fondren. This county position oversees county-wide compliance of record keeping and reporting requirements established by the Mississippi Commissioner of Insurance. The Fire Coordinator acts as a liaison between the volunteer fire personnel and the Board of Supervisors, and between the Board of Supervisors and the State Fire Coordinators office. The County Fire Coordinator assists in preparing and administering a budget for state and county money to be spent for fire protection, capital improvements, and expenses. Lowndes County is currently under the 1997 Standard Fire Protection Code.

Sammy Fondren
Lowndes County Fire Coordinator
515 2nd Avenue North
Columbus, Ms. 39701

District #1 VFD
Fire Chief Mark Spears
District #1 including the Town of Caledonia is a Class 8 Fire Protection Rated Area.

District #2 VFD
Fire Chief Andy Perkins
District #2 is a Class 8 Fire Protection Rated Area.

District #3 VFD

Fire Chief Wayne Doyle


District #3 is a Class 8 Fire Protection Rated Area including a portion of

District #4 east of the Tombigbee River that is protected by District #3.

District #4 VFD
Fire Chief Louis Harriston
District #4 is a Class 10 Fire Protection Rated, Area except the Town of Crawford which is a Class 9.


District #5 VFD
Fire Chief George Beard   


District #5 is a Class 10 Rated Area, except the Town of Artesia which is a Class 9.

 Elm Lake Class 8